Brian Goodwin 10k - 2016 Results

Three hundred and seventy-seven runners completed the 2016 Brian Goodwin Memorial 10k in a fantastic night's racing as runners from across Scotland descended on Pollok Park. The standard was high with Scottish Internationals Tewolde Mengisteab (Shettleston Harriers) and Jenny Bannerman (Inverness Harriers) picking up the wins, the latter setting a new course record. Full results for the race can be found here.

This year's race doubled as the West District 10k Road Race Championships with medals being spread across clubs including Shettleston Harriers, Giffnock North AAC and Ronhill Cambuslang Harriers. Our own Crispin Walsh won silver in the V40 category to go alongside his new personal best.

Bellahouston Road Runners and Motherwell AC were also present in numbers with both clubs using the race as part of their respective club championships.

In the men's race, Tewolde Mengisteab (31:06) took the men's title by 36s from Jack Walker of Giffnock North AAC. Gavin Bryson of Edinburgh AC dipped under 32 minutes to take the last spot on the podium and lead his team to the team prize ahead of the host club by eight points. Iain Reid of Ronhill Cambuslang Harriers was fourth across the line and third West runner. Also of Cambuslang, Kenny Campbell was next across the line in fifth place, taking West V40 gold in the process. He edged out Colin Thomas, the first Bellahouston Harrier home, by two seconds.

On the women's side, Jenny Bannerman was out in front from the gun and won by nearly forty seconds, finishing in a time of 35:37. Michelle Sandison of Springburn Harriers was best of the rest and scooped the West title while Avril Mason (Shettleston Harriers)  bettered clubmate Jessica Oliver-Bell for third by less than twenty seconds to round out the senior West medals. Such was the calibre of field, all four runners were under the previous course record of 36:55 from 2012.

Packing two the top four runners was enough to give Shettleston Harriers a resounding win in the team competition ahead of Bellahouston Road Runners with Bellahouston Harriers three points further back.

For the host club, Darren McQuade (34:34) and Susan MacRitchie (38:51) recorded sizeable personal bests with further bests under the forty minute mark coming from Calum Ferguson and Kenny Taylor.

Neil Nairn and Robbie Smith also ran new PBs while Karen Speirs was a beneficiary of chip timing to join Lynne Sim in running under fifty minutes.

After the race, runners enjoyed a burger and beer outside the clubhouse as the weather played ball.

Thanks must go to all the people and organisations that made the race possible. Race sponsor Achilles Heel for their ongoing support of the race and the supply of goody bags and prizes, the West District committee for awarding the West District Championships to the event, the 200th Glasgow Boys Brigade for manning the water station, the Caledonian Cowboy for piping runners to the race start, StuWeb Race Timing for handling the online entries and for their prompt results service, Cartha Queens Park Rugby Club for hosting the event and for feeding the runners after the race, and to those who volunteered at race registration, on marshal duties, and who took care of all the other tasks that allow the race to happen.

A final thank you must go to all the runners who competed - we hope you enjoyed the event and come back again this time next year!

A full list of prizewinners can be found here. The link to a photo album taken by Kenny Phillips can be found here. More photos taken by Martin K Gilmore can be found here.

Interested in Joining?

Bellahouston Harriers are an amateur running club based on the south side of Glasgow.

Our friendly atmosphere and great coaching make us a great choice if you are looking to start running for a club or if you have run with a club before.

Click here to find out more...

Twitter Feed